An interview with… Sandy Sklar aka @sandyrxfit

715

Our interview today is with super fit mom Sandy Sklar, personal trainer and owner of Prescriptive Fitness in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Sandy is 39 years old and mom to 5 children! (they include 3 step-children)… 4 boys (17, 15, 13 and a 5 year old) and 1 daughter aged 3.

A post shared by Sandy Sklar (@sandyrxfit) on

Sandy’s Interview…

On a scale of 1 to 10 how important is it that you workout and why? (10 being very important).
Definitely a 10. Working out throughout the years has keep me physically fit, yet mentally strong. I’ve managed to bounce back quickly after 2 pregnancies and it keeps my mommy sanity in check!

Did you work out during your pregnancies? If not why not?
I worked out up until the day I gave birth, with both pregnancies. Along with maintaining a healthy, balanced diet, I worked out and felt strong. I believe it made my deliveries easier and I was back to my pre-pregnancy weight, within 9 weeks postpartum.

How much time do you dedicate to exercising each week?
At least 5-6 days a week. A combination of strength training, including HIIT and aerobic exercise such as running or the stair climber. I always make sure to stretch and rest.

What keeps you motivated when you’re tired or the little ones have worn you out?
I know that if I don’t get things done, they’ll never get done. I have little ones that rely on me, look up to me and I try to stay positive and use every bit of energy I have, to keep going throughout the day. When the tank gets too low, a hot cup of coffee helps too!

Do you follow a super clean diet or just eat sensibly?
I eat sensibly, everything in moderation. I try to stay away from highly processed and refined foods and eat as many whole foods as possible. I admit, I do LOVE pizza and wine, but I workout hard enough and eat clean enough to earn it, on occasion!

What does a typical day look like for you?
I wake up at 4 am and start my training day at 5 am, M-F. I get home by 1:30-2:00 pm and spend the rest of my day with my children. This includes: The kids extracurricular activities, walking the dogs, cleaning, laundry, cooking and just being mom! When the kid go to bed at 7:30 pm, I prepare lunches and snacks for the following day. Around 8:30-9:00pm, I’m working on my training schedule, fitness program designs and returning business/personal emails. I’m alway keeping fingers crossed to be in bed by 10:00 pm!

What do you find is your biggest struggle? Food, exercise, time, motivation?
My biggest struggle is time. I wish there were more hours in the day!

What is the best part of your day?
Coming home to see my little ones! Although balancing work and family can be a challenge, being a working mom, definitely makes me appreciate and enjoy the time I have with my children even more.

Finally, if you could give one piece of advice to new mums or mums-to-be what would it be?
A healthy, balanced life = A happy, balanced home.

Follow Sandy on Instagram. Sandy’s website is www.prescriptivefitness.com.

A post shared by Sandy Sklar (@sandyrxfit) on

If you enjoyed this story please share below 🙂

Comments

comments

No Responses

Leave a Reply